134: What If “The Lion King” Sourced More Heavily From “Hamlet?”

MUFASA: I am thy father’s spirit … if thou didst ever thy dear father love –

SIMBA: Oh God!

MUFASA: Revenge his foul and most unnatural murder.

SIMBA: Murder!

MUFASA: Let not the royal cave of Pride Rock be a couch for luxury and damned incest … Adieu, adieu! Simba, remember me.

SIMBA: So be it!

TIMON: Hillo, ho, ho, Simba!

SIMBA: I loved you not.

NALA: I was the more deceived.

SIMBA: Get thee to a nunnery: why wouldst thou be a breeder of sinners? …

SARABI: What wilt thou do? thou wilt not murder me? Help, help, ho!

ZAZU: What, ho! help, help, help!

SIMBA: How now! a rat? Dead, for a ducat, dead!

[SIMBA pounces behind the rocks where ZAZU is concealed. Muffled screams from ZAZU. A spray of feathers. Silence. Beat.]

ZAZU: Oh, I am slain!

SARABI: Oh me, what hast thou done?

SIMBA: Nay, I know not: is it Scar?

Leave a Reply

