133: Zzz

Joey was out of town on an interview or similar, so he pinged the carillon guild asking if anyone could cover his Thursday recital slot. I was free Thursday at 6 PM, so I jumped right in.

I got to the tower with half an hour to spare, but I was feeling ill. I used the elevator for once, because I didn’t trust my jellied legs to manage the stairs. Nobody was on the first floor – I guess nobody practices ’round this time.

I went up with ten minutes to spare, took a selfie in the playing cabin, and waited for the six o’clock chimes. The program came out a lot faster than I realized – I actually underran the ten-minute cap. I ended up playing “Pigeons and a Boy (Pazu’s Fanfare),” the “Air” by G.F. Handel (the very first piece we played!) and the Fugue in E flat minor by A. Gerken (omitting the prelude).

I ended with a miniature encore for my own benefit – the opening fragment of Sayaka Sasaki’s “Zzz,” the ending theme to Nichijou. It sounded really weird on the carillon, but then again, so did everything else this past evening.

I deposited my music back in my folder and left the tower discreetly. It was fun.

J39M

One thought on “133: Zzz

Leave a Reply

