Hare Hare Yukai

Picture me shirtless, disheveled, demented – dancing madly ’round the room like a moron. I don’t have tickets to see Jason Mraz, I don’t have tickets to see Taylor Swift, and I don’t have a private kissing pass from Emma Watson. I do have stage-side tickets to see Rafał Blechacz at the SFJAZZ Centre on for 14 October 2014 at 19:30. I’m in seat TA-1, which is “behind” the stage, keyboard-side. It’s a front-row column seat angled towards the keyboard. With any luck I will be able to observe Rafał’s beautiful form and superhuman technique from an up-high angle.

I look forward to this very much. If you see an ungainly young Asian man making a fool of himself in the upper-level seats behind the stage, I take full credit for any tomfoolery that falls around the area. I’m actually quite excited to hear Rafał attacking breakout repertoire for once: I think everyone will be anticipating Beethoven’s Sonata op. 13 (overplayed as it may be, I’ve seen one critic praise the interpretation as a fresh one). I for one hold a special anticipation for the Chopin Waltzes op. 64, the three of which I became acquainted with in Rafał’s first-round performances at the Chopin Competition XV in 2005. It has been almost a decade since his last on-the-record performance of the three waltzes, and I look forward to seeing whether they will be played anew or merely reforged from nostalgia. The fifth of the numbered polonaises (F sharp minor) will conclude the program. I am familiar with Rafał’s recorded account and Evgeny Kissin’s live performance at Carnegie Hall (echoing to me from years long past), but doubtlessly the atmosphere of the concert hall will add a certain spice to the piece.

As a not-very-particular postscript to this rambling, I am thoroughly enjoying my Moto X. Hats off to the new stock Android camera app (as new as 4.4 KitKat) and the Motorola-made camera app for actually making some sense with their numbering schemes. Instead of arbitrarily recording an initial point (the first picture taken) and starting their numbering from there (e.g. IMAG0001.jpg), pictures are now named with the capture time as the file name (e.g. IMG_20140809_20313736.jpg). Certainly, so long as you are careful to preserve modification times, executing

ls -tr 

will always list any aggregated list in the proper order. (If you do not understand what the above is, the man page is extremely informative.) Failing that, some simple bash runarounds with any EXIF utility will do the same (though not as neatly). Off the top of my head, I imagine something like

for f in ./*; do echo -n $(exifsomething "$f" --listwhateveryouwantespeciallyrelevantdates | grep "date"); echo "$f";  done | sort

would do the job. It’s clunky (look at the way I tried to get around a trailing newline from each call to the exif utility) and I’m too lazy to test it now.

But in my opinion, this naming scheme is the best. For all my clumsy bash work, this naming scheme will pay off the very most in the long run.

Good job, Google! And great job, Motorola, for a solid flagship-ish phone.

J39M

Leave a Reply

