061: Classical Armenian

Proper noun

Classical Armenian

Another name of the Old Armenian language.

I practiced piano for a long time this morning after escaping from physics section; fired by interviews of Rafal Blechacz, I fanatically played two etudes by Moritz Moszkowski, practicing them harder than I ever remember doing at home. I gave an encore in the evening after dinner, locking myself in the rec room and practicing hard. It was a happiness unequaled to feel my fingers storm the F-major etude more evenly, more smoothly, more rapidly than I have ever played; and the E-flat major – it’s shaping up; it’s not so stiff any more. In the F-major, those runs up and down the keyboard remind me so much of little rockets whizzing shrilly through the air…

I stretch my arms until they hurt, grasping at that crystalline technique of Rafal Blechacz – how can someone who only puts in maybe an hour a day (that’s a lot for me, granted – but nothing at all compared to any proper musician) hope to achieve anything beyond the cheapest of imitations?

Still my polonaise disgusts me, but still I persist – I’ve had it under my wing for years, incubating and weighing and modifying – it’s never turned out right, never. Someday, I hope, when I have more free time to devote to music…

I looked up from my box of waffle fries en route back to the dorm; the moon blushed at me and drew a thin veil of clouds around itself in the semblance of modesty. But that celestial dress could not hide the enormous halo it projected about itself: a luminous corona, many times the size of the petite body it enclosed, just barely visible all the way across from where I stood a ways off from the elevator.

Mmm, it’s true that the moon is ripe material for poetry.

J39M

EDIT: I completely forgot to tally up my most important event of the day: an exorbitant expenditure of unprecedented amount: fully $28.10 on four CD’s, which comes to an average of little over $7.00 per CD. These were (in descending order of price) Rafal Blechacz on the complete Chopin preludes (and then some), Rachmaninoff on Chopin, Mikhail Pletnev with the Russian National Orchestra (conducted by Mstislav Rostropovich) on Prokofiev’s and Rachmaninoff’s third piano concertos, and Isaac Stern with the Philadelphia Orchestra (conducted by Eugene Ormandy) on Brahm’s Violin Concerto in D major, op. 77.

Was it an unnecessary chunk of my savings blown for no good reason? Yes. Am I pleased with the music? As it stands, very. I have listened thus far to the Prokofiev (every bit as good as I remember; and better, since I first heard a battered-and-scratched copy from the public library) and am in the middle of the Brahms. I’m liking that quite a lot too – Aneiss was right; Isaac Stern is quite good.

Pletnev’s interpretation of Rachmaninoff’s third concerto is something which I have been after for a while now, and am quite proud to have in my possession; the third movement is pure gold to me.

As for Rachmaninoff himself on Chopin, the reviews I’ve read have been very positive, and I find myself somewhat drawn to the bluntly assertive and very confident playing style of that great pianist. It was NEW, no less – even though the jewel case was almost broken – and fully a dollar cheaper than what I could get on Amazon, which was almost out of stock anyway.

Stern is currently dishing out a cadenza – and Lord, can he play. I think I like this Brahms.

The Blechacz hovered around almost half the price I could get it for on Amazon, and was in astonishingly good condition (actually, most of the disks I’ve bought from Rasputin music, regardless of price or outward condition, have been in just-about-pristine condition). I look forward to listening to him play!

Oh, but it was worth it!

J39M

Leave a Reply

