060: Synchronization Proxy

synchronization proxy (plural synchronization proxies)

(Internet) Alternative form of “synchronisation proxy”.

Well, that was useful.

Today, for posterity I again record the location of the gnome-settings-daemon for whatever GNOME I have now on Fedora 17: it’s at /usr/libexec/gnome-settings-daemon. I have created a local alias (“gsd”) for my own convenience – it comes in handy for display problems, I find.

Two links to consider, the first that would activate i3lock before laptop sleep, and the second which describes basic dealings with service files:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1170643

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Systemd#Writing_custom_.service_files

and by the way, just now there’s an interesting section on power management:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Systemd#ACPI_power_management

Back to school tomorrow, oh Lordie me…

But a long weekend with family and friends (oh! I miss them already) has done me well; my cold’s almost gone away, and I am now the proud owner of a beautiful wicker-work creature which I call my Patronus. I have no idea what it is. I like it.

J39M

EDIT: I’ve GOT it! Now I can just close the lid on my laptop and come back to a locked screen automatically! The downside is that the color is set directly in this shell script placed in /usr/lib/systemd/system-sleep/ (directory system-sleep had to be created), which means that if it ever takes my fancy to change the color that i3lock works on, I’ll have to modify this script. Pity! I don’t actually know what the shell script does, I just copied the instructions at https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=146790 .

#! /bin/sh
case “$1” in
pre)
i3lock -i 90a5a6
;;
thaw|resume)
;;
*) exit $NA
;;
esac

J39M

EDIT: Tragically, I rescind my previous edit about success. It doesn’t work now. Strange.

J39M

EDIT: kludge discovered via Ubuntu documentation; there’s a dispatch script that xfce4-power-manager calls, named xflock4; I simply create a local shell script of that name and have it call i3lock with the appropriate parameters – ET VIOLA, the problem is solved!

J39M

Leave a Reply

