055

Dad gave me a DVD of his friend’s documentary film – one that had been made with government money. “Music would really make it better,” he said – and like the effects of a magic spell, my eyeballs were transmuted into dull gemstones. This is the second time I’ve had the opportunity to score something, and I’m still kind of fired up over programmatic music.

That’s not to say I’m going the easy way out; I haven’t committed squat (work is going heavily into the cello quartet version of “When You Wish Upon a Star”), but the other day at the piano a marvelous idea came to me for a cello piece. It was a ridiculously simple motif but I was almost certain I could develop it in a way that was not overly rip-off-ish of my favorite artists.

But I don’t want to spoil it. This is the best idea that’s come to me in a while; even if it is still stuck in G minor (I want to think in different keys, but I’m just handicapped at doing so). I’ll consider attacking it next semester when I’m taking Music 25A – four-part writing!

J39M

 

2 thoughts on “055

Leave a Reply

