052

I’m still completely enamoured with “When You Wish Upon a Star.” It won’t get out of my head; I dream up different arrangements for it through lecture, pry apart its chords through section … it won’t leave me alone.

Yes, I even went so far as to set my background to a line from the French version.

The version I’m currently most obsessed with is the French version performed by the voice actor for Monsieur Geppetto. He has a pleasant bass voice and the piece has been re-arranged for him, I think; it’s delivered in E-flat major.

The shabby background was mashed-up from two things: a public domain NASA picture of M45 and a shot of the mountains I took myself on a hike with Dad. I used to be better at GIMP; I’m pretty sure I was.

The funniest thing about this song, now that I think about it, is that it romanticizes this hilarious act: looking up into the night sky, picking a random pinprick of light that’s uncountably behind time (and maybe dead, according to one sarcastic Redditor) and begging it inaudibly (and if you voice it aloud, inefficiently – sound travels slower than light) to grant some wish of yours. For heaven’s sake, our SUN is a star too. If you’re going to wish upon a star, may as well wish upon the closest one in the neighborhood than an old geezer that can’t hear you from that many light-years away.

BUT HEY I’M A CYNIC SO SCREW ME I LOVE THE SONG ANYWAY.

J39M

Leave a Reply

