040

The phrase of the day is “catastrophic failure” – the kind that knocks you out of orbit and forces an early re-entry, and whereby you screw up something in the procedures and turn into the latest miniature meteor shower that shows up on the evening news.

Actually, I didn’t even have the luxury of showing up on any news, any radar, anything – I re-entered quietly. Nobody noticed my luminous tail streaking across the sky. I landed somewhere in a forest, charred and mangled, curled up into a ball.

Now I’m just going to sit here in the clearing and slowly let my salty engine fluid leak out.

J39M

EDIT, 23:11 – “Thank God for Kevin Wang.”

Leave a Reply

