And a Merry Christmas to you too, Mr. Grinch

Sun, 16 Sep 2012 22:29:11 -0700

Dear Julian,

I am the Resident Director for your dorm. I hope you’ve had a good weekend. I received an incident reporting stating that you may have been in possession of a weapon on 9/15/12 in the Octagon. I contacted my boss to get clarification on the weapons policy, specifically about if a plastic sword is still considered a weapon. My boss responded that a sword made out of plastic is still considered a weapon.

Please remove this sword from the Residential Complex within 24 hours and confirm with me once you have done so. If I do not hear from you, I may need to contact UCPD.

If you would like to meet with me to talk about any of this, please let me know. If not, I expect confirmation from you tomorrow about removing the sword.

Thanks for your cooperation.

Take care,
Wade

9/17/2012 12:33 AM

Hi Wade,

I don’t know where I could put my sword, let alone with easy access (I admit my need is infrequent, but it is still there). Could you suggest some safe, convenient, and free storage area for me?

Or, alternatively, could I allow my sword to be confiscated by my RA and placed in her care with restricted access on my part?

Regards,

— Julian

Mon, 17 Sep 2012 10:53:24 -0700

Hey Julian. We aren’t able to store anything that is against policy. I would suggest asking any off-campus friends or family and ask them to store it for you. Please confirm when it’s gone.

Thanks.

Take care,
wade

9/17/2012 6:20 PM

Hi there,

I think there’s been a misunderstanding here, because prop swords and other such mock weapons are common possessions for members of the Wushu team (and more than a few of them should live in the residence halls) – is there nowhere OUTSIDE the residence halls where I could store my sword?

If that is not the case, I will need an extension on removing my sword since this poses an extreme inconvenience in the current time frame. I will confirm with you when it is gone.

— Julian

9/17/2012 6:36 PM

Julian. This is the policy and I am not able to change it. Wushu swords are not allowed either. I will give you until 5 tomorrow. If I do not hear from you that the sword is gone, then I will contact the police.

Take care,
wade

Well…have a nice day, Wade! I hope you don’t contract some incredibly painful disease any time soon. May you live long and prosper and oh I give up screw you.

J39M

2 thoughts on “And a Merry Christmas to you too, Mr. Grinch

  1. thekarenlee

    I take back what I said in my e-mail. What a douche. (Excuse the language). It’s frankly a ludicrous policy. I get the safety issues that underlie their response, but think about it. If you take the sword, adorn it with multi-coloured feathers and add a layer of blue-green dye and call it a peacock feather, would they be able to do anything?! Also, he basically said “omg get rid of that thing or I’m gonna tell!!!!!!” and didn’t even bother providing suggestions or helping you find a place to store it. Have you asked any people on the Wushu team about this issue? How have they handled it?

    I’ll be sure to talk to Elizabeth about this. This is ridiculous. Manners, anyone?

    Reply
    1. J39M Post author

      Thanks for looking out for me as usual. 🙂

      No, I haven’t asked since I’m not formally part of them (so I wouldn’t want them to give me a place down in Hearst if I’m not going to join), though I admit asking them might have been easier than begging Elizabeth. I didn’t want to go all the way down to Hearst on Monday night and sending them an e-mail was also inconvenient, anyway.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

