Monday stalks closer

I still have problems. A few of them.

Open mic night today; we closed the show (besides the two RA’s singing “A Whole New World” a capella) with our amazing dance for an excerpt from “Gangnam Style.” Our RA loaned Marco and me both glittery, sequin-laden clothes (Marco a golden v-neck, and me a black jacket); I swapped my shades for Alex’s safety goggles, and so our strange menagerie got onstage down in Stern. Reception was greatly positive.

Our suite (with the exception of a few) then had a sort of musical soiree in the rec room with our dinky piano; we sang “My Heart Will Go On” and “When You Wish Upon a Star,” to name two. Michael did an amazing bass rendition of the latter. There was epic ping-pong afterwards.

Then we hung around inside the TV lounge until about three o’clock (we were joined by a security guard, a sophomore in nuclear engineering whose daily worries tend to include anxious students losing friends in frat houses) swapping stories, jokes, and playing hangman.

At one point, I went to get water from my room and returned to find that Marco and Michael had disappeared. The girls told me that they had gone to the bathroom; I checked sarcastically behind the nearest couch to make sure they weren’t hiding there, and they laughed nervously. Then Anita suggested that I hide Marco’s flip-flops, directing me to put them behind a certain cart in the room.

We continued hangman and I lounged leisurely on the couch, facing the chalkboard. I did not notice Hoi giggling every so often. But when it suddenly occurred to me to me to turn around, I fell off the couch – a truck piled high with plastic objects had suddenly come extremely close to me. I took a few moments to process that something inanimate had creepily approached me before I realized that the game was up; Michael poked his head out from behind a couch and Marco appeared from behind the cart. Anita was surprised that I hadn’t noticed that Marco went to the bathroom without his shoes. Marco was surprised that I didn’t hear him moving around.

I met the quartet briefly this morning and reflected on how I ought to be more honest with myself.

Oh God. Now I’m worried all over again. I’ll sleep on it and try again later.

Stay loose. Stay loose. Stay loose.

J39M

Leave a Reply

